1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Is Mathematics easier now than it used to be....

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by chubble, May 28, 2007.

1. Hi,

New to these forums so please be gentle...

I am not a teacher but I do private A-level maths tutoring as a side line. I am an IT trainer with a degree and soon to be phd in mathematics.

I'd love to teach but sadly I dont think I could deal with the little scrotes who dont want to learn. My tutorials have the attitude of - you dont want to learn, I dont want to teach you and i'll take it up with your parents....I realise this would not work in the sort of school I went to and I hold my hat out to all those who cn deal with it.

Did my A-level maths and further maths (pure and applied) in the late 1980/early 1990s with the NEA as it was.

I cannot help but think that the exams are easier. I am sad and kept my past papers and mock papers.

Apart from the modularization (which automatically makes it easier) questions seem to me to be a lot more "leading" than they used to be.

I have examples of 20-25 mark questions - now they seem to be split into parts and if you dont get part (a) well you can still do part (b).....

And I'm sure some calculus elements used to be in single maths but are now in further (although I cant back that one up so stand to be corrected).

Am asiking because a parent has asked me much the same - I didnt want to give my own biased answer so thought I would ask the experts.

2. Hi,

New to these forums so please be gentle...

I am not a teacher but I do private A-level maths tutoring as a side line. I am an IT trainer with a degree and soon to be phd in mathematics.