1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Is it worth sending a speculative application?

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by evalooda82, Sep 17, 2020.

?

Is it worth sending a speculative application?

Poll closed Sep 24, 2020.
  1. Yes- it can't hurt.

2 vote(s)
    50.0%
  2. No- if they had a job, they'd advertise it.

2 vote(s)
    50.0%
  1. evalooda82

evalooda82 New commenter

I have been teaching for 12 years but, since moving to a rural area, there are (unsurprisingly) fewer job opportunities. Having completed a year's maternity cover, I'm now tutoring and freelance writing while I wait for jobs to come up.

Is it worth sending a speculative application to the schools I would like to work at locally, even if there are no jobs currently advertised?

Proactive, or pointless? Has anyone ever got a job this way?

2. muso2

muso2 Established commenter Community helper

If it's a harder subject to recruit and you want to work a small amount, you might be lucky. I've managed to get one day a week teaching music twice without seeing an advertised post, though both times through contacts who knew I was looking and heard of a school with a gap.

For a full time post I think most schools would advertise, though for a small amount of hours they might try to cover it internally rather than recruit.

In previous threads on this subject, people tend towards saying it's rare to get something from a speculative application. But there's occasionally one or two who say they've found something that way, so you have nothing to lose.

Piranha and evalooda82 like this.
  3. evalooda82

evalooda82 New commenter

Thanks, Muso, that's helpful.