1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Is it worth it?

Discussion in 'Welcome lounge and forum help' started by ClaireB1234, Feb 15, 2016.

1. ClaireB1234

ClaireB1234 New commenter

I'm currently a student teacher and I'm spending another night crying my eyes out. I've failed an essay and didn't do very well in my first observation, but I've been told to "Keep going" and "Honestly it gets better, you have the qualities to be a great teacher it just takes time!" So my question is, how much time? How many agonising days wondering if I'm ever going to be good enough? I really like the pupils and I want to improve, but I just want to know if it is all worth it?

2. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

You're still very early on in your training.
    Take heart that you're being told that you have the right qualities to be a great teacher.

Very few teachers are excellent practitioners, even in their NQT year- most hone their skills over years. I trained over 40 years ago and in all that time only knew one teacher who was excellent the day they stepped through the door as a newly qualified teacher.

Just like our students, we make mistakes and then learn from those mistakes to make us better teachers. So one 'not very well' in your first observation may not indicate you're 'no good', just that you have a lot to learn. So take onboard any areas for improvement. Address those areas and hopefully you'll do better next time. Probably making 'mistakes' in another area. And so it goes on.

I know perhaps it's not fashionable to say so, but I reckon it probably takes 3-4 years to really hone one's skills and even then one constantly does so with each new cohort of children/ different school etc.