1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Is it worth doing a PGCE course?

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by Lowis88, May 3, 2012.

1. Hi there! I'm a Spanish graduate in English Studies, and after spending one year as a foreign language assistant in England, I'm considering doing a PGCE in MFL-Spanish. I'm currently finishing a teacher training course (very similar to the PGCE) in Spain,which will allow me to teach in secondary schools here. I think that my qualifications could be recongnised in the UK (having qualified in the EU), but I suppose that doing a PGCE would give me a better insight into the English educational system. If you were in my position, would you do this course? If I had my qualifications recognised, what other options are available in order to get more experience in English schools? Thanks in advance! :)

2. Hi there! I'm a Spanish graduate in English Studies, and after spending one year as a foreign language assistant in England, I'm considering doing a PGCE in MFL-Spanish. I'm currently finishing a teacher training course (very similar to the PGCE) in Spain,which will allow me to teach in secondary schools here. I think that my qualifications could be recongnised in the UK (having qualified in the EU), but I suppose that doing a PGCE would give me a better insight into the English educational system. If you were in my position, would you do this course? If I had my qualifications recognised, what other options are available in order to get more experience in English schools? Thanks in advance! :)