1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide in the welcome lounge and help forum.

Is it too late to sign up for a PGCE?

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by Flumptious, Feb 4, 2017.

1. Flumptious

Flumptious New commenter

I am currently a university lecturer, in geology. I have had my current job for 17 years, but they are about to close my department, and I have decided that I should go into teaching at secondary schools.

Is it too late to apply for a PGCE to start this year? I was planning to do that, and then I realised that the UCAS process is closed. I was very disappointed. But then i thought 'Hang on, this is a postgraduate course, that may be different!'. So now I am unsure.

2. blueskydreaming

blueskydreaming Established commenter

It's not too late - you can apply right up to August, as long as there are training places available. Go and look on the UCAS website to see courses available in the subject you want to teach.

You need to make sure you've spent time in schools though, at least 2 weeks, so that you're familiar with what goes on in school, and the workload, behaviour and so on.

3. mandala1

mandala1 Occasional commenter

Depending on your subject, some providers may be closed - you need to check individually. If you are applying for Dchool direct then bear in mind that lead schools may have an allocation - so you may need to check individually. As Bluesky says, you need to get school experience, being in school is very different to HE.

4. vvamadeva

vvamadeva New commenter