1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Is it the right time to move on?

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by hk1991, Feb 8, 2016.

1. hk1991

hk1991 New commenter

I am currently in my second year of teaching, and I'm beginning to think about starting a new post. I have been at the same school since starting my career, but In my first year I taught year 4 and I am now teaching year 6. Should I gain another year on year 6 before moving on, or bite the bullet and go for it?

2. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

A lot depends.

Remember this is just one opinion. And just the opinion of a 'long-in-the-tooth' ordinary teacher, so wait for some more expert advice. Another time tag @TheoGriff or start your post Dear Theo . . to ensure she sees your post, though she's usually pretty good at picking up most-going well and beyond what she needs to as Forum expert.

Sometimes it's good having settled into a school with a couple of different year groups to move on and use that experience you have gained within a different setting. You can have a new start and having to re-establish yourself is easier, if you're not too entrenched in just one school's routines and practices, as some teachers can find.

However proving 'stickablity' is also important and only halfway through your second year is quite a short time.

Remember too that applying for posts and actually getting one, are two different things. So it may help to start looking now for the type of school you'd like for your next challenge.

Then what type of experience / year groups/ contributions to your present school do you need to have 'under your belt' to make you a serious candidate for such posts?