1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Is it possible...

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by SteveClark590, Dec 15, 2015.

1. SteveClark590

SteveClark590 New commenter

Is it possible to work in some related capacity with schools, without having been a teacher?

My background is in organizational learning, corporate learning, training & development, e-learning, ed-tech, and other knowledge transfer practices. However, I am not a certified teacher and have never worked as a school teacher.

While the need for innovation in our schools is great, and the advances in learner-centric thinking in the business world would certainly be helpful, I have found no receptiveness by school districts to outside thinking.

Does anyone know of a "path to usefulness" whereby an "outsider's" knowledge could effect improvement in our schools?

Steve Clark
    http://www.mountainmoversatwork.com/ideas-in-action.html

2. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

Steve - your link at the bottom seems to be advertising. This is not allowed, I'm afraid!

And I also wonder if you meant to post on this UK site, as the wording of your post suggests that you are US-based . . .

Best wishes

3. SteveClark590

Thanks, TheoGriff. Please don't be afraid. I am not advertising. The link shows more of what I have to offer in a knowledge, world-view-on-education sort of thing. Just supplemental info to augment how I see education differently than teachers. Guess I could have framed it in context differently.

Thanks for the info on UK vs. US posting. First, I find US views on education innovation lagging behind UK and Aussie views. Second, if there is a thread, I didn't find it. Can you please direct me?

Thanks.

4. TheoGriff