1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Is it possible to get a one year contract in China/Hong Kong?

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by enev93, Sep 8, 2019.

1. enev93

enev93 New commenter

Hi,

My partner and I are both b.ed qualified primary teachers in Ireland. I am currently in my 4th year of teaching in Ireland and he is in his 6th. We are interested in applying for jobs to teach in China next year (2020-2021) and I was just wondering is it possible to just sign a one year contract as opposed to two? I understand that the majority of schools offer 2 years but we would both be applying for a career break in our own schools at home which is only granted on a one year basis so I wouldn't like to commit to two when I would only have one year leave. Obviously this would only be in relation to us actually securing employment. Also would it be more beneficial for us to apply to schools as a teaching couple? Thanks!

Oh I meant to add we are currently interested in Guangzhou area or Shenzhen, we like the idea of Hong Kong/ Singapore too but I think they would be too competitive for us as we don't have international experience.

2. Jason_Bourne_

Jason_Bourne_ Occasional commenter

You've pretty much got no chance of securing a job at a good school on a one year contract. Why would any school want to go through that process? I know at least one school in Guangzhou that recruits teachers on an initial 3 year contract followed by 2 year renewals.

3. blue451

blue451 Senior commenter