1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Is it better to resign now or keep under my hat until February?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by mantilla, Jan 13, 2016.

1. mantilla

mantilla New commenter

Hello all,

As above really.

I work in a school which is in Special Measures. I know I want to leave as I have young children and the workload now is just not sustainable for me. Everything is changing (mostly good stuff, I hasten to add) but I cannot carry on working every single evening for a part-time role. Should I resign now or wait to hand in the letter for a bit? I know from the school's point of view the sooner they get the letter the better, but are there any disadvantages to me doing it now?

Thanks in advance.

2. FrankWolley

FrankWolley Star commenter

I'd do it now, help the school out.

3. DYNAMO67

DYNAMO67 Lead commenter

I agree. If you are 100% on going and nothing will change your mind, then do it now. I don't see any disadvantage for you.

4. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

It would certainly help the school, who might be able to advertise, interview and appoint before the end of February, so they can have a replacement for after Easter.

And I think it might help you too, because having it all decided and confirmed could be such a relief that you would feel less stressed, more relaxed.

You might even enjoy the last few weeks of teaching!

Have you seen the model resignation letter? Tag me. @TheoGriff if not.

Best wishes

5. phlogiston

phlogiston Star commenter

Your chances of unpleasant observation will probably drop. You'll probably feel happier and the school management will appreciate the time to plan.

6. mantilla

mantilla New commenter