1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Is it always like this?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by vickysimpson1989, Apr 25, 2017.

1. vickysimpson1989

vickysimpson1989 New commenter

Im in my second year of teaching at a pretty tough secondary. Problem is that the feeling of failure and worry still hasn't really stopped. I live a healthy life, i meditate, i exercise, i get outside and yet i still feel the heavy burden of school. I feel like the biggest worry is my year 11 group that have low attendance, poor attitude and poor ability. I really want them to do well but it has become clear that they wont.I lose sleep over them a lot. I have run 'catch up' all year and no one has ever attended. My Easter catch up only one came. I worry that if i moved school that i would be **** there too. Although i feel like i have learned a lot about how to teach these kind of kids i still feel like i catch keep going like this. We are also not having 'gained time' now and will be running revision class for other subjects when our subject has finished. Im dreading it as it will be like herding cats with my class.

My question is does this feeling go and will i at any point feel like ive got this?

2. Yoda-

Yoda- Lead commenter

I hope this isn't your name your posting under. If it is contact TES and change it.

I am rather prehistoric and will let someone else answer your main questions. Hopefully they will have been teaching just a few years more than you. I would say that you are still very new to teaching ....

Alldone and Lara mfl 05 like this.
  3. FollyFairy

FollyFairy Occasional commenter

First, I do hope you are not posting under your own name as you will be very identifiable!