1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Is it a topic?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by bedson90, Feb 12, 2012.

1. Hi there, I have applied for a Primary SCITT course at Portsmouth and I have been invited back for the second interview which is next Tuesday. As part of the interview I am required to do a 10 minute presentation on the following statement. With complete freedom of subject matter what would be the first topic for your class? What would be the key learning experiences of the children? The topic I had in mind was getting the children to make magazines. I have a degree in journalism, so I have a lot of experience with this, and I thought it would be good because the children would be combining their creative writing skills with working in a team, conducting research etc. I have plenty that I can talk about, and I would be confident that it would be a good thing to teach the children, however I wasn't sure if it qualifies as a topic or not. Do you think this would be a suitable idea, or should I go with my backup idea, which was covering Titanic? Many Thanks