1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Is being a TA the right move for me?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by nick_smith0900, Aug 30, 2019.

1. nick_smith0900

nick_smith0900 New commenter

Hi I am currently a Police Officer who will be retiring in the next two years and I will be looking for a new job. My children think I would be a good TA especially working with young children. I will be 52 so is that too old to start looking. Any advice would be appreciated.

2. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

Certainly not too old, but have you any idea of what a TA does?
    It does involve working 'under the instruction of the teacher, would you find that difficult, if the 'teacher' was quite young?

Last edited: Aug 31, 2019
  3. Sundaytrekker

Sundaytrekker Star commenter

You’ll probably need to do some volunteering to get some experience in the classroom. Otherwise it can be very difficult to get interviews.

phlogiston, pepper5 and Lara mfl 05 like this.
  4. MrMedia

MrMedia Star commenter

I’m currently recruiting some of these retiring police officers at the age of 50. Do you not have a degree? What they are doing is getting their degree through the Open Uni in the last few years before retirement and that springboards them into a very well paid training year upon their retirement from the police. You are certainly not too old, far from it.

5. sunshineneeded

sunshineneeded Lead commenter