1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Is anyone willing to look over my Personal Statement for CV?

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by daydreamer86, Jul 29, 2011.

1. Hello. I posted on Personal about the order of a CV and another poster mentioned posting on this forum for advice from Theo but I notice he is on holiday until September so, instead, I was wondering if somebody would be able to look over my Personal Statement for my CV. It's very short but I'm not sure whether it is relevant as I'm not very good at talking positively about myself and I don't want it to sound stilted or, alternatively, too arrogant. If someone is willing to look over it, I will post it here.

2. I would not post it on open forum if I were you. Unfortunately, some people do not read and post with good intentions but instead have the motive of releasing their hatred through mockery and deprication of others. If someone replies, send it to them as a private message. I would happily read it and give you constructive criticism. I am just a teacher but it is always good to have other eyes give your writing a read over. Send me a PM.

3. minnieminx

minnieminx New commenter

Goodness! That is not generally true on the TES. I've not seen it towards people genuinely asking for help.
    Mind you, I would also agree that posting statements on a public forum is probably not the best idea.

I'm not quite sure why you are writing a CV. Teaching jobs do not generally need them, but use application forms. some independent schools ask for CVs, but state schools do not.