1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Is a PGDE worth it?

Discussion in 'Further Education' started by peanut333, Jan 29, 2019.

Tags:
  1. peanut333

peanut333 New commenter

Hello, I'm new to TES

I'm currently undergoing interviews for my PGCE, so far 2 interviews and 2 offers - YAY!
    My next interview is actually for a 120 credit PGDE course.
    I initially applied for this thinking it would be my first choice because in a sea of newly qualified teachers I want to stand out as the best and thought having a PGDE over a PGCE is definitely going to help me to do that. I'm also considering turning these credits into a full masters in the future years.

BUT I have never heard anyone say a PGCE is anywhere close to easy, in fact, "the hardest year of my life" is what I usually hear when I say PGCE, so now the thought of a qualification which is twice the work is becoming a bit daunting. Of course if in the long run it's going to put me in a better position for getting a job then I'm up for the challenge, but if it's not really going to help me, I don't want to put myself through unnecessary extra stress.

Just wondered if anyone has any advice?

Thank you! :)

2. IlMentore

IlMentore New commenter

I should preface this by admitting that I never heard of a PGDE until just now. That said...