1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Is a 60-70 hour working week a common theme?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by dawnm5061, Jan 15, 2011.

1. I am in my fourth year of teaching and I work in Year 2 in a four form entry school.Over the past two years the amount of hours that I have to spend working at home has become unmanageable and I now have no evenings or weekends available to do aything but school work. I need to know whether this is a common theme among us teachers or whether I need to ask questions of my school regarding the expectations put upon us.
    I would really appreciate some views on this.

2. Hi dawn
    In my experience, excess workload depends on a number of factors - a) how conscientious you are, b) how organised you are or c) how much you are 'choosing' to do.
    Before I explain I am not suggesting that any of these will necessarily apply to you!
    To explain: in terms of a) Some teachers manage their workload because they are just not worried about getting everything done or make more shortcuts than others, b) some are not organised or able to prioritise tasks well so everything takes longer and c) some just do far too much that is unnecessary!
    If you are certain neither of these apply to you (be honest with yourself! - I was a c) for years!!) I would suggest talking to other teachers and asking them how much they do - if there is a consensus that the workload is unmanageable then analyse what you are doing, why its taking so long and how much of it is genuinely necessary (ie are you duplicating planning, assessments etc?)