1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Is 10k dirhams a month (£2k) a small monthly salary for a teacher in an international school in UAE?

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by secretnerd123, Mar 3, 2019.

1. secretnerd123

secretnerd123 New commenter

I received a job in Sharjah ([This comment/section has been removed for breaching our Community Guidelines/Terms and conditions]) . will have a free apartment and medical bill but my mum is worried that this seems to be a small monthly salary. I grew up in London and I have never worked as a paid teacher before (I am on my primary pgce).

Is this normal? I was expecting atleast £3000

2. dumbbells66

dumbbells66 Lead commenter

And NQT in inner city London earns £29 664 gross, and you'll take home £23,554. This means £1,963 in your pocket a month. So its more and you get free accomodation which is a BIG saving.

But as you have said, "I have never worked as a paid teacher before", why would you be expecting the good salaries?

secretnerd123 likes this.
  3. taiyah

taiyah Occasional commenter

£3000/month tax free for a person with ZERO experience in today's economic climate - - - it is a hard push these days. Maybe 8 - 10 - 15 years ago.. Countries are more educated and savvy about how much should international teachers get. Hence the mandatory noterisation processes countries are now demanding.

4. secretnerd123

thats true but I thought it was way more there for some reason.

5. dumbbells66

There are places where the starting point on the salary scale is over £5000 a month tax free, but with your lack of experience they will be totally oit of your reach.