1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Irish teacher applying for jobs in England

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by MarionMcGowan, Jan 7, 2012.

1. Hi,
    First time poster so please be nice :)
    Im a qualified teacher of maths and history in Ireland. Although I have very good qualifications, I haven't been able to get work in the secondary sector since graduating. I worked in the adult education sector last year but I haven't been able to secure any work this year. Im planning to move to the south east of England in the next few months.
    I was hoping to get some advice on applying to jobs in England. Is it appropriate to call up schools to arrange meeting or just hand in CV when a job hasnt been advertised? How long should a cover letter and CV be? Is there anything that will make my employment gap look more positive to prospective employers?
    These must seem like very basic questions but really... I havent got a clue. I was trying to find syllabi for Key Stages 3, 4 and 5 (Maths) without much luck, can anyone point me in the right direction? I really want to do my research and have a good understanding of the the curriculum before I begin applying for jobs. Any advice or suggestions you can offer would be really appreciated.

2. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

We are a nice civilised, supportive Forum here, no nasty cracks at people, so don't worry!
    Tip for next time: If you're going to ask more than 1 question, number'em, to save having to copy them all out to answer. Thanks!
    No and no.