1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

iPad Application Development

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by cw0007007, Jan 23, 2012.

1. Hi,

I am a freelance iOS developer and my mother is teacher who has asked me to create a timetabling application for her. Her basic idea was to replace her daily planner with an application that she can use on her iPad2. I am writing this post to ask about potential interest in such an application and also get some feedback on features that would be useful to a wider audience. Also, if a lot of interest is shown I can send Beta versions of the application to people who had iPads to test, test and test again before release. If anyone would be interested then please reply with any ideas/requirements. The basic idea is listed in more detail below:

Daily Planner View: A view that shows 6 Periods with a notes section at the bottom. This view is split into two columns, one to add a lesson plan and one to add notes for any homework set.

The lessons for each week can be saved in templates and then be loaded into a new day with a few button presses.

All days are saved and can be printed/emailed for record purposes.

Notifications can also be setup to remind when homework is due by a class. This can be set for any time/day.

This is some of the basic functionality and more can and will be added from feedback from testing users.

2. Hi, I'd be very interested too. Sounds like a great idea!

I would love it if the planner pages could be linked in with a timetable that you input perhaps once per year - with an option for 2-week timetables. Having to re-input your entire timetable into outlook every half term is a real pain!

Look forward to hearing more about this.