1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Invitation to write a two-side piece on the issues of the EYFS please contribute

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by adora, Jun 29, 2010.

1. As a reception teacher I find it a real waste of time to be filling in the profile AND tracking documents on the ELGs/ development matters. Why do we need 2 separate assessment documents - if the profile is ultimately it then put all the objectives/ goals on it. If there are other things we are supposed to be assessing against then put them all together in one place and just give us one document to fill in.

Not to mention the fact that the statements on themselves are so vague and wooly, I'd really like to see them made clearer.

I'll have a think!

2. Leapyearbaby64

Leapyearbaby64 New commenter

I think the recent thread about the grading of moderation is a good example of how LAs and Advisers have taken it upon themselves to misinterpret what is expected of them. There are clearly some sensible LAs (Msz's seems to be quite good from what she says) and others (I think Kent was the example) have gone quite OTT. Moderation is just one example, I think the issue is that so many points need to be clarified. The 80-20 misunderstanding is another one.

3. colorado

colorado New commenter

The complete disregard for the way that many Reception classes are staffed - i.e. the LEGAL SITUATION where one sole, exhausted teacher is expected to run her class of 30 4 yr olds in the same way as a Nursery with a 1:13 (or better ratio). I speak from experience - It simply can't be done and something HAS to give. I'm blowed if that's going to be the children's learning!!