1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Interviewing for a job outside of teaching

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by lucyjo1991, Dec 31, 2015.

1. lucyjo1991

lucyjo1991 New commenter

Hi Theo,
    I am currently in my second year of teaching. I moved schools after my nqt year and since September I've been in a very nice school nearer to home. However, I'm still not enjoying teaching - it's just not for me.
    I'm going to apply for a job in a private tuition centre for September but I don't know how to handle it with the school I'm in at the moment. If I get an interview, it's likely to be in term time as the school holidays are their busiest time. There's an interview followed by an assessment day if you're successful. I'm worried that if I tell the school I'm going for interviews and then don't get the job and change my mind about staying it might be very awkward and the school may be reluctant to invest in me as a professional. However, I obviously can't lie. I was thinking maybe I could ask for an unpaid personal day for a 'private appointment' but I don't know how well that is likely to go down. Can I have some advice please?

2. Middlemarch

Middlemarch Star commenter

You must be entirely honest when you ask for leave of absence, paid or unpaid - this is because your contract of employment requires you to be available to work for 195 days and any leave at all is subject to the school's policy and/or head's discretion. As a head, I wouldn't have agreed to leave of absence for something as nebulous as a "private appointment", largely because it would set a precedent and possibly lead to others wanting (for example) the last day of term in order to go on holiday earlier.