1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

interview questions for second in dept?

Discussion in 'English' started by kiirstii, Jan 27, 2008.

1. Hi,

i've been teaching for 3 years now, and i'm planning on leaving my current job and look for promotion somewhere else. I was hoping to apply for any jobs as second in dept or as a key stage co-ordinator.

could you please give me some idea of the type of questions i may be asked or what ideas i will need to well-versed on prior to an interview?

thanks

Kirsty

2. Hi,

i've been teaching for 3 years now, and i'm planning on leaving my current job and look for promotion somewhere else. I was hoping to apply for any jobs as second in dept or as a key stage co-ordinator.

could you please give me some idea of the type of questions i may be asked or what ideas i will need to well-versed on prior to an interview?

thanks

Kirsty

3. If you do a search you will probably find a few threads devoted to this, but to start you off:

- Is Second in Dept a management or leadership role?
    - How would you support your HOD/team?
    - What qualities could you bring to the role?
    - Describe a time when you have demonstrated leadership
    - What is the difference between management and leadership?
    - How would you support a colleague having problems with behaviour?
    - How would you would effectively with your HOD?

Can't think of any more at the moment!
    Issues to consider:
    - Your vision for the role
    - General department concerns - literacy, underachieving boys, non-movers KS2-3, intervention
    - Every Child Matters
    - Study Plus/Functional Skills

Hope that's of some use! Good luck x

orkida_87 likes this.