1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Interview Question for Primary Interview

Discussion in 'Primary' started by paulp21, Aug 29, 2011.

1. I am a Scottish teacher who has an interview this week. One of the things I will need to talk about is the difference between 3(a) and 3(b)? Does anyone know what 3(a) and 3(b) are? I'm assuming they are levels but I'm not sure. Any help is much appreciated. Thanks

2. Anonymous

Anonymous New commenter

Sub levels.3a -working well within level 3 and almost getting into level 4. 3b - working within level 3.
    They don't officially exist - but that's a minor point.
    Then there's expected levels - 2b at year 2, 3c at the end year 3 etc. And sub level progress.

3. Should've mentioned my interview is in England!

4. Thank you for the quick reply! Can I just clarify...
    If a child is working on 3a would that mean they have nearly attained all of the outcomes at level 3 and if they are working on level 3b they are just at the start of the level and still have quite a few outcomes to achieve.
    Thanks!

5. Msz

Msz Established commenter

No the levels are split into 3 sub levels c being the lowest and a the highest
    a 3b is secure at level 3

6. 2004ajd

2004ajd New commenter

The way I see it if a chid is a level 3a they have achieved all level 3 criteria.
    3b I'd say that they are a solid level 3.

Sub levels can be misleading; Child A could have level 3a for one piece of work, 3b for another and 3c for another within the same subject therefore I'd probably give them a solid L3 overall.
    Hope this helps and I haven't confused you:)

7. Anonymous

Anonymous New commenter

Welcome to England's fun assessment system. [​IMG]