1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Interview nerves

Discussion in 'New teachers' started by kstring24, Feb 22, 2011.

1. I've got my first interview next week and I'm finding myself getting nervous already. Generally, I'm ok with nerves if I get on and don't think about it, but unfortunately I'm struggling to contain them atm. I think I'm overthinking things a little too much, convinced the kids won't do as I ask or understand my task etc. I did plan to teach the interview lesson before half term, but I didn't get chance to finish planning the lesson before half term so I won't get another chance.
    I didn't have an interview for my current job as I was at the school as a trainee, I was very happy with the opportunity to get a job without interview at the time, but now I wish I'd had some experience! Has anyone got any tips for a first timer?

2. I've got my first interview next week and I'm finding myself getting nervous already. Generally, I'm ok with nerves if I get on and don't think about it, but unfortunately I'm struggling to contain them atm. I think I'm overthinking things a little too much, convinced the kids won't do as I ask or understand my task etc. I did plan to teach the interview lesson before half term, but I didn't get chance to finish planning the lesson before half term so I won't get another chance.
    I didn't have an interview for my current job as I was at the school as a trainee, I was very happy with the opportunity to get a job without interview at the time, but now I wish I'd had some experience! Has anyone got any tips for a first timer?

3. littlemissraw

littlemissraw Occasional commenter