1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Interview - need advice on maths methods to use!

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by semteach, Jun 6, 2011.

1. I'm a supply teacher at the moment so unless it's a class/school I know well I don't know what methods the school use or what that class use. You often also have a mixture of children using more formal methods and then children using methods like number lines, especially if you have a wide range of abilities - I've been in Y2 classes where there's children using the decomposition method for subtraction!
    What I normally do in this situation is give the children some time on whiteboards to work out the problem - whilst they're doing this move around the class and look at the method(s) used and give a bit of support to those who might need it. You might find at this point the children use one method or there's a mixture like I described earlier. Then I would ask one child to show how they worked it out, getting them to talk through their method. Then I ask if anyone worked out the answer a different way, that way you're covering the variety of methods and showing they're all reach the same answer (if done correctly!).

2. ellie_rose

ellie_rose New commenter

Thanks a lot for your help! :)

3. I also want to add that whatever you decide to do to tackle this I wouldn't introduce a new method to teach the children in case they don't pick it up. You don't want to 'lose' the children in an observation! Best to stick to reinforcing ones they're familiar with.

4. minnieminx

minnieminx New commenter

Are you only teaching a starter? I really recommend you don't do anything that requires a written method in a starter activity.