1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Interview lesson tips (NOT ideas!!)

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by janegeography, Apr 21, 2011.

1. I usually give the students white stickers that they write their names on and stick onto themselves so that I can call them by name - ask them to write in large, clear letters.

2. There are lots of things you can do and you just have to find what's right for you. You need to slow your mind down and focus on the task in hand. I would think of something positive to think, e.g. I am a good teacher, and pause slightly before answering questions. Practice your answers to common questions before interviews so that you know what you want to say for questions that commonly come up.
    I think you need to show passion and enthusiasm for your subject and be able to convey this to the students. Also, you need to show good behaviour management - the stickers help here! Not allowing students to talk over you or shout out. That and all the other things too!
    Good luck.

3. Definitely show that you are a pupil centred teacher, know at least 5-10 of their names by the end of the lesson.
    A clear aim, lots of interaction and peer learning with a good summary. Try to enjoy it (easy to say while typing at a keyboard)

Good luck

4. missmunchie

missmunchie New commenter

I think you still need to go down the starter-main activity-plenary route. Even if your starter and and plenary are only a few minutes each. Focus on one thing as other posters have suggested.

5. Differentiated learning objectives- a must for me as an SLT member who observes these sorts of lessons when candidates are on interview.