1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Interview lesson observation for AS/A-Level English

Discussion in 'English' started by f92, Feb 21, 2020.

1. f92

f92 New commenter

Hello

As the title says I have got an upcoming interview where the school wants me to do lesson for an AS class, I haven't got the full details on what they want me to teach however my problem is that in training and teaching career thus far (in my third year teaching) I have had zero experience or exposure to the teaching of A-levels (years 12/13). As the schools I have worked at did not have sixth forms and during my PGCE training year they didn't let me observe/teach any A-level classes. The only thing I have to go on is my own experiences doing A-Level English literature which was exactly 10 years ago, which doubt will of much help to me now as I can hardly remember the lessons being planned to show off teaching standards.

In terms of an observed lesson what are they expecting from an AS level lesson.
    Does any one have any advice for me?

2. tb9605

tb9605 Established commenter

Interesting. I imagine that they have clocked on your CV that you have no A Level experience and that's why they want to see you teach at that level in order to check your subject knowledge is in depth enough. So, I would work on incorporating theory/criticism in to your class, either using the theory/criticism to critically evaluate a text, or to critically evaluate the criticsm. Perhaps I'm wrong, but I suspect this isn't something you have done all that often at KS4?

Find out what exam board they teach and really bone up on the assessment objectives.

Good luck!

englishtt06 likes this.
  3. englishtt06