1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Interview: is this unprofessional?

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by Xsxs22, Jan 28, 2020.

1. Xsxs22

Xsxs22 New commenter

Hi all,

I am a trainee teacher and I had a job interview today. It was my first interview and at the end of the process I was offered the job. I had enjoyed the day and liked the school overall, but upon being offered the post something suddenly changed. I no longer felt sure it was the right thing for me. I had not expected to be offered the job and was rather shocked. I asked the head teacher if he'd be willing to let me take 24 hours to think about it. He agreed, albeit slightly reluctantly. Upon returning home and taking a few hours to consider the offer, I have decided I will have to call in the morning to decline as something about this does not feel right. I'm now rather worried that changing my mind at this late stage in the process will now be a black mark against my name and that my university tutor may refuse to give me a reference for future applications based on this decision. Any advice?

2. PGCE_tutor

PGCE_tutor New commenter

Much better to do this than to say yes and regret it, or attempt to withdraw later. What was it about the school that made you want to apply? It would be helpful (to you) if you could put your finger on what it is that has unsettled you - if it's first job nerves then that's going to happen wherever you go. If it's something more specific to the school then you'll know what to look out for when you next make your pre-application visit.
    As for;
    that's not gong to happen.

Stiltskin and install like this.
  3. Xsxs22

Xsxs22 New commenter