1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Interview Help - Pre 1914 Poetry

Discussion in 'English' started by tigerleaf, Jan 29, 2011.

1. Hello,
    I've just heard that I have an interview on Tuesday and I wondered if anyone could offer any help. I've got to teach a GCSE group for forty minutes on a poem of my choice. It has to be pre-1914 and NOT appear on any GCSE/iGCSE anthology. This obviously means that most of the online resources are unsuitable!
    I thought about doing Wordsworth's 'Composed Upon Westminster Bridge' and analysing it by making a mind map but am unsure. I am a GTP student and not that experienced teaching poetry. The school is very traditional and quite academic so I don't think that they'll be looking for anything flashy - more teacher-led. Any ideas for the structure of this? I am slightly worried...!
    Many thanks in advance!

2. Hello,
    I've just heard that I have an interview on Tuesday and I wondered if anyone could offer any help. I've got to teach a GCSE group for forty minutes on a poem of my choice. It has to be pre-1914 and NOT appear on any GCSE/iGCSE anthology. This obviously means that most of the online resources are unsuitable!
    I thought about doing Wordsworth's 'Composed Upon Westminster Bridge' and analysing it by making a mind map but am unsure. I am a GTP student and not that experienced teaching poetry. The school is very traditional and quite academic so I don't think that they'll be looking for anything flashy - more teacher-led. Any ideas for the structure of this? I am slightly worried...!
    Many thanks in advance!

3. sweetie1

sweetie1 New commenter