1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Interview for TA role in PRU

Discussion in 'Teaching assistants' started by messylittlemoneky, Jan 9, 2020.

1. messylittlemoneky

messylittlemoneky New commenter

Hello,

I’m a qualified early years teacher and have spent most of my career (since 2003) working as a preschool assistant. I have worked as a class teacher at times, but this is not the main thrust of my experience.

Anyway, I’m studying for a degree in psychology and this has sparked an interest in working with children with mental health and behavioural needs as well as other SEN.

I’ve applied for a TA 2 post in a pupil referral unit and have got an interview in a week or so.

Having never worked as a TA or indeed in a PRU, I have no idea what to expect and wondered if anyone here could advise?

Many thanks

2. hubcap

hubcap New commenter

It is tough. The children are unpredictable and some can be violent. Prepare yourself to be tough and very patient.
    There's not much more I can say. I think you have to experience it. There is constant alertness needed as anything can happen. Think of your preschools a lot older but with behaviour issues! As a TA vyou will have to brush up on your skills in Maths and English as you will be helping with this.
    Good luck!

3. sunshineneeded

sunshineneeded Star commenter