1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Interview experience for PGCE Maths with the OU or others

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by North-Star, Dec 11, 2011.

1. North-Star

North-Star New commenter

Hi everyone,

I am soon applying to the Open University, to do a PGCE in Maths for secondary schools.

The OU seem to be very helpful about giving any ideas on what to prepare for the interview day:

1) Has anyone had an interview for PGCE Maths with the OU or another university?
    2) How was the day? were you successful?
    3) How is it like to study with the OU? (if you are an OU student)

I have a degree in Civil Engineering (20 years ago), I was a geek in maths :) , and still remember most of it, I have also been looking at KS3 and KS4 books, seem OK at 90% at least, I haven't been looking at 6th form stuff yet, but I will consult it over Christmas before the interview.

2. North-Star

North-Star New commenter

Hi everyone,

I am soon applying to the Open University, to do a PGCE in Maths for secondary schools.

The OU seem to be very helpful about giving any ideas on what to prepare for the interview day:

1) Has anyone had an interview for PGCE Maths with the OU or another university?
    2) How was the day? were you successful?
    3) How is it like to study with the OU? (if you are an OU student)

I have a degree in Civil Engineering (20 years ago), I was a geek in maths :) , and still remember most of it, I have also been looking at KS3 and KS4 books, seem OK at 90% at least, I haven't been looking at 6th form stuff yet, but I will consult it over Christmas before the interview.