1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Interview at IoE

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by jonrobinson, Jan 25, 2011.

1. I had an interview at the Institute of Education to get onto their PGCE English course. As soon as I arrived I pretty much had an idea that there was very little chance of me getting in as everyone else around me was studying at universities such as Kings College, Cambridge and Oxford, and I was sat their with my place at University of Gloucestershire!

Main thing that let me down in addition was the fact I am studying English Language as opposed to literature. Anyone else had an experience where they have been frowned upon for their choice of degree. My entire interview consisted of a question and answer session of my knowledge of Key Stage 3 English Literature texts. The Interviewer kindly told me "if I was your head of department, I would be least impressed with your knowledge of literature". In addition to the dreadful interview where I wasn't even asked WHY I wanted to enter into teaching, today I got the feedback letter which stated that I didn't get a place because They said I wasn't offered a place because of:
    - Lack of Subject Knowledge
    - Lack of Knowledge of the National Curriculum
    - Lack of Enthusiasm and Interest of English and Teaching
    - Lack of Creativity
    - Lack of Positive Attitude towards young people
    - "Lack of Expectations for young people within an Educational Setting"
    - Lack of Understanding of Teacher's professional skills and responsibilities
    - Lack of Work Experience (Observation) at Secondary School Level

Shattering my ego a bit?

ANY advice or help would be greatly appreciated before my next interview!