1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

INTERVIEW - asking for time off?!? Pls read

Discussion in 'Primary' started by Lilybett, Mar 2, 2011.

1. Hello,
    If you are reading this, please reply because I am stressing!
    I've got an interview tomorrow for an LSA post (I'm a fully-qualified teacher but there are no jobs round here...!!) - and yesterday I found out that my name had been picked from the ballot for Centre Court tickets for Wimbledon!!! [​IMG]
    Because I live at the opposite end of the country, I will need to stay over in London and take two days off - a Thursday and a Friday in June.
    I want to be honest and tell them about it tomorrow, but is this wise? I was thinking it might be better to say that before I heard I had an interview, I booked a weekend break and I'm really sorry but I will need these two days off. Think that might sound better than admitting I need 2 days off to go to London to watch the tennis?!
    I really don't want to lie - of course, because it's just not nice. And it's so impractical! What if I get the job and make friends with colleagues who want to add me on Facebook - where I have been burbling on about how excited I am to get these tickets? And I really, really don't want to have to ring in sick and spend all day hiding from the TV cameras. But I was SOOOO lucky to have got Centre Court seats and can't give them up!
    What would you do???
    Thanks so much in advance xxx

2. Hello,
    If you are reading this, please reply because I am stressing!