1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Interview advice

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by PARTALOA, Oct 10, 2015.

1. PARTALOA

PARTALOA New commenter

Dear Theo, I've been lucky in getting an interview for a primary Yr3 vacancy. I'm a Secondary MFL & English Teacher. I have taught lots of different subjects as I was a supply teacher for the last 2 years. So, I think maybe that has helped my chances of getting an interview. Could you offer me any advice for what I may expect at the interview

2. cat2611

cat2611 Occasional commenter

I think you will need to answer questions about:
    - safeguarding
    - differentiation
    - behaviour management
    - your strengths
    - your weaknesses
    - why you've applied to that school
    - your best lesson
    - what you do if children don't make progress
    - if you have any questions for them. I always ask a question that is related to the school's area for development

I hope that helps.

melbanks likes this.
  3. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

Hullo @PARTALOA and well done for getting that interview!

It's a good job that tomorrow is not a work day - you may need the spare time to read everything I am about to give you . . . :)

Cat has given some interesting areas for questions above . . . I'm not sure that strengths and weaknesses are still asked, very last decade! But of course actually you cannot tell what will come up, except CP and Safeguarding, which may not appear to be about that, so be careful.

My articles cover a whole range of things that you may wish to consider, including what to ask at the end. :)