1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

International school c.v. questions

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by Eadonr2, Jan 4, 2019.

1. Eadonr2

Eadonr2 New commenter

Hi gang, I'm looking for a little advice. I have a few questions but all around c.v. writing and job application for international schools.

1. Gaps in CV. I taught English as a Foreign language and tutored literacy for years before I got my masters and PGCE. If I have dates shown when I list of my qualifications
    of when I achieved both my masters and PGCE, will the 'gap' in my c.v. be apparent that it was during this time, or should I add an explanatory sentence in my Experience section?

2. How to show when you do more then one position simultaneously? E.g. if you are class teacher, head of year and literacy coordinator at the same time at the same school. How would you structure this on your c.v?

3. Is it wise to send your c.v. when no current vacancies are advertised? On the websites of many schools I would potentially wish to apply to, no jobs are currently being advertised, but many prompt for you to send a c.v. for future positions. Has this worked for anyone? My concern would be that, without having a position in mind I would be unable to tailor my c.v and covering letter to that particular role and my application would sound to generic and therefore low quality.

If you can answer any of these questions I would be most appreciative.

2. gulfgolf

gulfgolf Established commenter

Make sure to address gaps. Child protection requirements ask schools to explore all gaps.

3. the hippo

the hippo Lead commenter Community helper