1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

International Newbies

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by adrixargentina, Nov 4, 2019.

1. adrixargentina

adrixargentina Occasional commenter

To anyone who is looking for their first international post like me... How many jobs have you applied for so far? I've applied to about 30 and have not got a sniff and feeling like it won't happen :(I'm reasonably open minded about locations (Middle East, Asia including China).

I've even seen jobs I've applied for extend their closing dates. I'm on Search Associates and I've been told by them that CV, bio and references are good.

Anyone else feeling like this? I have 10 years experience in the UK and my students got excellent (above national average) GCSE results last year.

2. dumbbells66

dumbbells66 Lead commenter

Are you only applying for British schools or a mixture of school types?

3. adrixargentina

Hi Dumbbells,

I'm applying to UK, American and IB. Not being picky I don't think. But I obviously don't have experience in the latter 2 curriculums.

4. dumbbells66

dumbbells66 Lead commenter

Keep plugging away, it is still early in the season. A lot of schools would have only just asked their current staff what they intend to do. I just got my new contract last week. A lot of jobs are still to be posted.

Good luck

adrixargentina likes this.
  5. teachersn

teachersn New commenter