1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

International Baccalaureate and moving abroad

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by jogill, Jan 16, 2016.

1. jogill

jogill New commenter

Hi all,

I am currently looking at moving and teaching abroad in September.
    I haven't any practical experience of the IB but have been doing my research.

I am an English teacher so would be looking at:
    MYP:
    Language Acquisition
    Langauge and Literature
    DP:
    Language and Literature alongside the Core.

Just wondered if anyone else out there has taught the IB?
    Any tips on the preparation and then settling into working and living in another country?

Thank you :)

Jo

2. MyLastDuchess

MyLastDuchess New commenter

Since there is not great demand for English teachers right now, I would advise you to consider teaching non-IB English at a school, and show that you are a competent teacher who knows how to contribute to extracurricular life. If you can do this, the school will be likely to eventually pay for your IB training when an IB English colleague leaves (there is higher staff turnover in international schools). Without IB experience, it will be considerably more difficult (though not impossible) for you to secure a position teaching IB English at a good school with a great package.

3. percy topliss

percy topliss Established commenter