1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Internal interview - any tips?

Discussion in 'Personal' started by perky_panda, Apr 21, 2012.

1. Hi, I have been teaching for 4 years and have my first internal interview coming up. It feels really awkward as I already know everyone and can't exactly hype things up which you might do in a normal interview. It is for KS1 manager with english. Has anyone got any tips or ideas for questions I might be asked? I don't want to look stupid and feel awkward so want to be prepared.

2. Hi, I have been teaching for 4 years and have my first internal interview coming up. It feels really awkward as I already know everyone and can't exactly hype things up which you might do in a normal interview. It is for KS1 manager with english. Has anyone got any tips or ideas for questions I might be asked? I don't want to look stupid and feel awkward so want to be prepared.

3. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

A common mistake as an internal candidate is to assume they know everything about you. But you have to treat the whole thing as if they don't, just like an interview anywhere else. It's hard to 'big yourself up' but you do really need to do this. Really emphasize every contribution you make to the children, their learning and the school. If this feels awkward, there's usually a governor or someone who doesn't know you and try to explain it for their benefit/ look at them whilst you're talking to help you overcome the awkwardness.
    Best of luck with it!