1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Inspiration needed!

Discussion in 'Music' started by fuzzycat, Jan 24, 2012.

1. I'm a secondary teacher stuck in a rut - seem to end up spending all my time trying (and largely failing) to get KS3 kids to play in time with each other, either playing or composing something on the keyboard, and them performing at the end of the lesson. I need inspiring ideas to engage them more, while not being anything too outlandish as behaviour can often be tricky.
    What's the lesson activity that works best for you, that you are most proud of and gets the kids learning and having fun? I only have keyboards (and voices) as resources, and those can be unreliable sometimes too... I just feel I have gone stale and I'd love some new ideas!

2. I'm a secondary teacher stuck in a rut - seem to end up spending all my time trying (and largely failing) to get KS3 kids to play in time with each other, either playing or composing something on the keyboard, and them performing at the end of the lesson. I need inspiring ideas to engage them more, while not being anything too outlandish as behaviour can often be tricky.
    What's the lesson activity that works best for you, that you are most proud of and gets the kids learning and having fun? I only have keyboards (and voices) as resources, and those can be unreliable sometimes too... I just feel I have gone stale and I'd love some new ideas!

3. Have you tried simple things like music theory jigsaws? There is a maths programme that you can adapt, it's free to download. Helps for revision of basic fundaments, you can input whatever you want onto it. Race to finish, winning group gets *insert prize here*.