1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

inspiration for topics

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by twinklelittlestar, Apr 1, 2012.

1. Hi,
    I'm new to Reception and have been using Child Education Plus to give me inspiration for topics being covered in my class. Are there any other free websites which have planning ideas linked to topics? For example, after the holidays we are doing 'growing' and I have got some lovely ideas for the Child Education website, but we will be doing this topic for the next four weeks so I need lots of ideas.
    Thanks

2. choralsongster

choralsongster New commenter

Have you asked the children what ideas they would like to discover through the topic of growing? As well as input to planning from observations and assessments, I always have a class sit down cht at least once a half term to find out what they've enjoyed, not enjoyed and what they would like to learn about. I've also sent home a child interest form to the parents, hoping this will also help to contribute.
    Growing could be human development, spring/baby animals, plants and planting. There are many books about change (Eric Carle's The Tiny Seed, Jack and the Beanstalk, Jasper's Beanstalk, Sam and the Sunflower etc)
    I would roughly plan for the first week or two and ask the kids to contribute. You can then google any other areas for planning. Also, have you asked any other teachers at school for ideas?

3. doctorinthetardis

doctorinthetardis New commenter

Love your idea Choralsongster about asking the kids, that's a really great suggestion and definitely one I'd recommend.