1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Inset days 0.6 contract

Discussion in 'Part-time and job share' started by Ellie_69, Oct 30, 2019.

1. Ellie_69

Ellie_69 New commenter

I’ve been working 3 days a week (Tues/weds/thurs) for a few years now. When I first took on the role Inset days were a bit hazy. As I understood it I did 3/5 Inset days. I have been doing that up until this year when I sat and worked out im actually doing more than I think I should be. Because my working days are mid week, training often falls on Mondays or Fridays. I’ve been coming in for them but not being paid. I just accepted it. But recently I’ve begun to think that’s probably not correct. I’ve checked my contract and I’m listed as 0.6 759 hours. I’ve worked that out that the 759 comes from 0.6 of 1265. When sharing 1265 into 6.5 hrs a day that’s 195 days for a ft teacher. If I’m expected to do 759 hours at 6.5 a day which is my contract that’s 117 days. With my training days and the way the holidays begin/finish I’ll end up doing 121 this academic year. Is this right? Should I be paid for the training days/extra days I’ve done? it came to my attention when I realised on a week when there is training on a Monday and I’m in for it, I still then work tues/weds/Thurs. which isn’t 0.6 of the week, it’s more. I’m starting to get frustrated with doing so much and getting little back!! Any help anyone has I’d appreciate it. Thank you!

2. NoIdeaWhy2

NoIdeaWhy2 New commenter

I had the same dilemma when I started working part time on 0.6.