1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Informal Meeting with Headteacher

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by TalkingTeacher92252, Nov 17, 2019.

1. TalkingTeacher92252

TalkingTeacher92252 New commenter

Hello everyone this is my first time posting in here but I have a bit of a dilemma and a concern. This has been on my mind ever since I got the email. Basically my Head Teacher has emailed myself stating that she wants to have a meeting with myself and my Deputy Headteacher (my Line Manager) as she is ‘concerned about my routines and preparations for the day’. I did email back asking if this was an informal meeting and she responded ‘it’s informal’ and she said that she wants to chat about my routines and aspects of my general demeanour. She also went on to say that my general demeanour had been complained about by some colleagues. I have never heard anything about this before and it is a first to me. I was just wondering if anyone could give me some advice? I’ve rang my union and they talked about the prospect of going on informal capability - I am worried sick about this as I am due to start a new job in September. I can’t help thinking that this has come about after myself telling my head that I have a new job in September. Any advice and help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance!

2. evehi

evehi New commenter

Im having similar issues, and I think its bullying.
    In many cases Head Teachers have personality traits of being controlling, competitive, over cautious etc and this is why they got that post... but the over cautiousness and disciplinarian in them makes them look for issues that are not there.