1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Induction!

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by nicholaj69, Jun 5, 2011.

1. Help needed (again!!!)
    As i have mentioned I am new to reception in sptember, after teaching in y3/4 for 5 years.
    Our induction process begins next week with children coming in for three afternoons and then a full day. There isnt a staggered start in September as i only have 15 children.
    Im finding it difficult to decide what to do with the children on these days- particularly the half days. I want to get to know them and vice versa but i want the days to be useful in terms of trying to gauge some ability.
    Another problem i have is that i will be teaching in someone else's room. Someone who currently isnt happy about moving up to year 2 and reluctant to allow me into the classroom and show me the resources available! I feel that this teacher (deputy head!!!!!!) could make my life so much easier but instead i have to ask you lovely people on this forum!
    Hope you can help!

2. Hi
    I'm also new to reception next year and will have a class of 15 children. I'm also new to the school so am not sure on the resources available.
    I have an induction day coming up in early july so would also be really interested to here some advice on how best to plan for this.
    :- )

3. It might be easier to focus on a book for the afternoons and have activities set up around that with a short focus time at the start and end of the session. Songs and stories. Somthing familiar like the Gruffalo or Hungry Caterpillar, Elmer. You could include a craft activity so they go home with something.
    Good luck