1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Induction year not completed since graduation in 2009

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by Cailingohalainn, May 25, 2019.

1. Cailingohalainn

Cailingohalainn New commenter

Hi,
    I'm aware this is an unusual post but if anyone could give me any advice on this I would be hugely grateful.

I graduated with QTS from my PGCE in 2009 and didn't complete my induction. I started it but never finished it. I then returned to work in what I had originally qualified in (law), for 3 years, before taking a year out to travel and then deciding to live and work in the Middle East where I resumed teaching. I have been in an International school since 2014 and really love living here. Not having this Induction year done has not caused me any problems over here. My career in teaching has progressed, and I love my job. I am considering returning to the UK/Ireland at some stage in the future and the lack of this induction is always somewhere in the back of my mind. I am considering going to a BSO school to get the induction completed, as I have seen some people say they have done this. My big worry is that they will try and pay me as an NQT. Has anyone else been in the same boat as me and can give me any advice on what I need to do? Thanks so much in advance!

2. peakster

peakster Star commenter

Stay where you are is my advice

3. caterpillartobutterfly

caterpillartobutterfly Star commenter

If you return after international school teaching, then an independent school would probably be your best bet here.
    They won't be so fussed about the lack of an induction year, your experience will count for much more.

4. frustum

frustum Star commenter