1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Induction/NQT year not recorded after 13 years. Has this happened to you?

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by Valerie1125, Jan 28, 2016.

1. Valerie1125

Valerie1125 New commenter

Dear All,

this is my first time posting, but I really need some advice here.

I'm going to try to keep this short: I did a PGCE Secondary in MFL in 2001-2002. I got my first job at a Further Education College, and I did my NQT year there. I still have a copy of my Career Entry Profile. I worked at that college until 2008 when I was made redundant. I was pregnant at the time, but I was happy to take a career break. I was a full-time parent for 7 years. When I decided to go back to work, I registered with an agency and this is when I was told that my NQT induction year had never been recorded or lost and that technically I didn't have Qualified Teacher Status (the computer says no, even though I have the paperwork to prove otherwise). I'm at my wits' end: I contacted the NCTL and my former employer (they archived my file since they made me redundant in 2008) but I'm not getting anywhere. The NCTL have suggested applying for Induction Exemption, but I'm not sure how to go about it...

Has anybody been in this situation and how did you resolve it? This has come as quite a shock after 13 years and is causing me a lot of stress ( I was supposed to do supply teaching in a secondary school today but they turned me down when the agency told them I didn't have QTS).

Any suggestions?

2. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

Actually you do have QTS, but you don't seem to have passed the induction year.

Ask the NCTL how to apply for the exemption, since they suggested it.