1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Induction not recorded!

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by shadowkitten, Oct 10, 2018.

1. shadowkitten

shadowkitten New commenter

Hi all,

Big problem for me. I'm an Australian trained teacher who got QTS in the UK through the assessment only route. I did do an induction year through my academy but I don't think that they registered me with the LA because the NCTL has no record of my induction year, I've only noticed now because I'm applying for jobs at other schools.

I went to a year's worth of NQT twilight training CPD sessions, I had many observations that year and my school has records of this.

Worst case scenario I know I can ring the LA and do a single induction term rather than 3 but I've just applied for an Assistant Head position at a school that I LOVED and when I met with SLT they seemed to really like me and it seems like I have a very good chance of being offered the role. Will they still be allowed to offer me the role if I have QTS but haven't done the induction? I'm more than qualified for the role, I'm in my 7th year of teaching in the UK, I've had 3 leadership positions whilst over here and I do have QTS.

If I am offered the job, do you think I can do a half term of induction at my current school and a half term of induction at the new school? I'll be furious if I miss out on this opportunity because my academy didn't register me!!!

2. welshwizard

welshwizard Established commenter Forum guide