1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Individual activities for children with PMLD

Discussion in 'Special educational needs' started by Tinks6, Sep 17, 2009.

1. Hello,
    I am in my first year of teaching at a PMLD school
    with children aged 4-6. They are on levels P1-P3. I am struggling to
    think of ideas for each child's individual work in literacy and
    numeracy sessions. Can anyone give me a few ideas of what kind of
    activities to set?
    Any ideas would be of great help!
    Thanks

2. Hello,
    I am in my first year of teaching at a PMLD school
    with children aged 4-6. They are on levels P1-P3. I am struggling to
    think of ideas for each child's individual work in literacy and
    numeracy sessions. Can anyone give me a few ideas of what kind of
    activities to set?
    Any ideas would be of great help!
    Thanks

3. nearly_there

nearly_there New commenter

Hi

I am relatively new to teaching PMLD but I'll give you my few pearls of wisdom. At P1-P3 your lessons need to be really sensory and hands on.
    How I plan (and this is by no means the way to do it - just what has worked for me) is I pick a topic, so since we began back we have been doing sealife, and then plan my numeracy and literacy around this. This means that although throughout the year my learning objectives are similar the individual's activities can be changed to fit the topic which breaks up the repetitiveness.
    So in my sealife topic the PMLD children have been
    • using their hands to find different plastic sea creatures in different materials - water, seaweed(spinach) and sand,