1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Independent school applications

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by Ju6121, Sep 5, 2020.

1. Ju6121

Ju6121 New commenter

Hello

I like to think of myself as a fairly successful teacher with 12 years worth of experience. I have been applying for Independent school leaderships jobs for the last year but have never even been offered an interview out of maybe 10 applications, even for those at my current level.

Are independent schools looking for something specific or does my lack of an Oxbridge degree mean that I am always unlikely to be shortlisted, even though I am currently studying for a PhD?

2. JJ83

JJ83 Occasional commenter

They could just be promoting internal candidates but advertising because they have to.
    Have you had someone look over your cover letter etc?

agathamorse likes this.
  3. Skeoch

Skeoch Star commenter

The "internal candidates" idea is very rarely true. There is no legislation that compels advertisement nor any that requires competition between applicants. If they want the internal candidate, they'll offer the job and save a lot of time and money on advertising and interviews.
    Oxbridge is also irrelevant. We will look at the degree but might well take a punt on a 3rd given the right work record. Whether you got to Oxbridge or not was determined in your teens; what your teaching and leadership are like have been determined in your twenties and thirties, and no doubt you are different now to what you were in Year 11 or 12!
    We want to see experience, relevant skills, track record, commitment. Remember there may be 100+ applications so chances of success are statistically slim!

TheoGriff likes this.
  4. TheoGriff