1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

In school for 0.8, teaching 0.72?

Discussion in 'Part-time and job share' started by turkith, Jul 25, 2018.

1. turkith

turkith New commenter

Hi all,
    I am new to part time working so apologies if this is a stupid query:

I start at a new school in September. When I applied, I asked for a 0.8 timetable and was granted it—my offer letter, my acceptance letter and my contract all clearly state 0.8 on them and my proposed salary was calculated on this basis (also clearly stated in each of the above). I got a letter from them today stating that my teaching timetable amounts to 0.72 of a full timetable and that my pay has been adjusted accordingly (a significant deduction). However, I am still in for four full workings days, with lessons at the beginning and end of each day. Is this normal/allowed? It feels like I’m being expected to wait around in school to teach my next lesson but not being paid for that time? Surely, it was their responsibility to ensure that they could give me enough classes to get me up to a full 0.8 timetable?
    Any thoughts are appreciated! Thanks in advance :)

2. turkith

turkith New commenter