1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

In a bit of a pickle...

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by Jen2185, Mar 28, 2011.

1. Hello everyone
    I am a primary school teacher - I completed my NQT year 2009-2010 and I now job-share a Year 2 class. I am enjoying teaching this year, after a very horrible and stressful NQT year (who's isn't?!) and am finally starting to feel good at my job.

However, before I got this job-share, I did supply, and I thoroughly enjoyed the days when I was sent to a reception class, nursery, or Y1 class. This was a huge surprise to me, as the youngest class I ever taught was a Year 2 class on my PGCE, and I never ever thought I would want to go into Early Years.

As I am working part-time, I used today (normally a day off) to go into a local nursery to see if I still liked it. I LOVED IT!!! The children were wonderful to be around, the staff were fantastic, the classroom was beautiful, just loved every second of being there today.

My question is - to anyone who could help me - if I decide to apply for jobs in Foundation Stage, would I be considered for interview, as my training qualifies me to teach children 5yrs-11yrs? My knowledge of assessment, planning etc in Foundation Stage is minimal, and although I can read up on this and talk to nursery and reception teachers at my current school, is this enough? Is there any specific training, or a conversion course I could do? I am hoping to continue gaining work experience in some more nurseries and reception classes locally before I jump into anything, but this does seem to be something worth pursuing I think.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated - thank you!

2. Hello