1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Improving writing standards - Year 6

Discussion in 'Primary' started by Gratzia, Nov 3, 2010.

1. Gratzia

Gratzia New commenter

Although I have one or two good writers in my Year 6 class, in general the standards are awful and three half terms to go before SATs!!!
    I am an experienced teacher and I am trying my best to improve the writing skills but this class are really below standards.
    I know they have been in my class for only one half term but every week feels like the first week!
    I choose really interesting, up-to-date texts. They get really involved in guided writing. They like the class displays which are well focussed. I model writing regularly. Formal lessons. Fun lessons. Role play. etc. etc.
    I introduce the process of writing during phase 3 of each Literacy unit and carry out extended writing too.
    I would love to hear from other Year 6 teachers who have raised standards from nothing. What did you do?
    Thanks.

2. Gratzia

Gratzia New commenter

Although I have one or two good writers in my Year 6 class, in general the standards are awful and three half terms to go before SATs!!!
    I am an experienced teacher and I am trying my best to improve the writing skills but this class are really below standards.
    I know they have been in my class for only one half term but every week feels like the first week!
    I choose really interesting, up-to-date texts. They get really involved in guided writing. They like the class displays which are well focussed. I model writing regularly. Formal lessons. Fun lessons. Role play. etc. etc.